Skip to content

One Year Later

February 14, 2024

One year later and I am preparing to launch Flowers of the Sea. This is a collection of artworks created from sea glass found on beaches along the Northumberland coastline. Each artwork is unique.

During the past year I have learnt how to find, clean and polish sea glass. I have also collected and recycled pieces that could otherwise have caused injury to feet or paws, and turned others into necklaces, keyrings and bottle lights.

These and early pictures have been shared with family and friends while I honed my craft. Their positive and supportive comments led me to explore a range of options, and eventually develop a signature style of artwork.

Each flower in the pictures is created from pieces of sea glass shaped by the sea, formed into a ‘found’ artwork, and then set onto a background of pearlised watercolour before being mounted and framed.

Flowers of the Sea will be launched at Curiosity Corner in Amble, Northumberland, on 1st March 2024 as part of a creative venture with Mooguin paper arts.

From → Art

4 Comments
  1. janetmcg1 permalink

    Beautiful art work, I love the piece I have on my wall – thank you!

    Like

  2. Wonderful news. Wished I lived nearer.

    Like

Leave a comment