Skip to content

Celebrating 1000 Downloads

May 15, 2014

Spring Posy
Today I am celebrating 1000 downloads on Smashwords.
I invite you to celebrate with me by taking a look at my most downloaded eBook Zipangu, year of the dog 1274: The Second Wave and my most downloaded poetry collection: Land of my Ancestors.
Zipangu is based on an extreme weather event which changed the course of history and begins:
In the year of the Monkey 1272 court astrologers in Peking witnessed a shower of falling stars. They declared it an auspicious omen and advised Kublai Khan, the Mongol Emperor of China, accordingly. He sent an armada of 3,500 ships to invade the island chain of Zipangu.
Meanwhile, court astrologers in Kyoto, the imperial city of Zipangu, informed Emperor Kameyana that the meteors were a foreboding of a great calamity. He petitioned his divine ancestor, the sun-goddess Amaterasu, to protect the island country.

To find out what happened next download the book from my author page at: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/JudithLesleyMarshall
One of the most interesting experiences I had while researching for the book was learning taiko drumming at Mugenkyo Taiko’s dojo just outside of Glasgow, the nearest I’ve come to visiting Japan to date.
I am delighted to remind readers that this weekend I am poet in residence for Japan Day at The Forum, Northallerton where I will be sharing my love of haiku and inviting visitors to try their hand at writing haiku for a Spring themed poetry display.
There are no haiku in my poetry collection Land of my Ancestors but the poems were also inspired by historical research, this time that of events in my own family history.
A popular verse from the poem Recording reads:
By the banks of the Tees and Wear
my ancestors made ends meet,
year after year after year,
until with the melt, one Spring,
like stones loosed from the river bed,
they upped sticks to move downstream.

I will be reading from this collection, together with other poets published by Mudfog, at Café Create in Darlington on Friday 23rd May. More details of this event will be published in my next post.

From → Poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Self-Published Authors Helping Other Authors

Advice on Writing, Publishing, and Book Promotion

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

The WORLD discovered

the ramblings of a backpacker exploring the world by foot

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

sheila sea

like thalassic velvet

Porkbelly Press

made in Cincinnati, Ohio

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Scarborough Mysteries

Crime novels set in a small coastal town on the North Yorkshire coast

Northpenninegallery's Blog

...searching for me

The WordPress.com Blog

Welcome to my writing world

Veronica M.Nero

Dark Fiction Author

A Rhyme and a Reason

original poetry by yours truly, all copyrighted.

Kerry-Ann Richardson

Crime Author, Blogger and generally nice person :-)

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

judithlesleymarshall

Welcome to my writing world

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

ROBERTO ALBORGHETTI

We may see things that we don't even imagine.

