Skip to content

Poetry short forms

September 16, 2013

Sea View at Kamari Beach, Gerani, Crete
I have always enjoyed playing with poetry short forms. Whilst on holiday in Crete last week I was inspired by the elements to create the following butterfly cinquain based on a pattern of 2,4,6,8,2,8,6,4,2 syllables:
Woken …
West wind whistles,
wild waves whip white-washed walls,
Whack, wallop, woosh. Whack, wallop, woosh.
Wow! Wow!
Whack, wallop, woosh. Whack, wallop, woosh.
Wild waves whip white-washed walls,
West wind whistles,
Woken …
When I arrived back home I found an article in Writing Magazine October 2013 about the growing popularity of twitter poetry. This modern short form, also known as ‘twikhaiku’ or ‘micropoetry’, is said to be inspiring a new generation of poetry readers and writers. I was impressed to read that George Sirtzes has dabbled in the form and created 20,000 of them. Looks like I have some catching up to do then.
What I love about poetry short forms is their portability. This one formed in my mind while I was watching the waves crash over the rocks in a normally calm bay popular with local swimmers. I churned it over and over en route back to my room where I was finally able to put it down on paper. A longer form would have escaped my memory by that time.
A few days ago I visited Saltburn which was recently hit by flash floods. A visit to the beach there inspired me to create a poetry string:
– stones – sand – seaweed – swimmers – surfers – ships – swifts – seagulls – Saltburn – seashore – salt – sweets –
which reminded me that activities beginning with ‘s’ are considered to be conducive to releasing creativity. In my experience a wave of inspiration can come a few days after engaging in swimming, sight seeing, etc. once the brain has had a chance to mull things over. This ‘simmering’ is an essential part of the creative process for me and something that I am more consciously aware of when producing shorter forms of writing.
If you are interested in finding out how I’ve woven together a series of poems inspired by visits to different Greek islands you can download my fantasy poetry story ‘Twisting in the Land of Light’ from http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/JudithLesleyMarshall

2 Comments
  1. Hey Judith

    Twitter poets do sometimes apend their work with hashtags to help discovery. But as there are so many forms/styles of micropoetry, and with the limited twitter space, tags can vary wildly and sometimes poems are not tagged at all. This makes discovering poetry on twitter quite a task.

    Yyu might find my hashtag guide useful. It lists most of the common hashtags used by many micropoets online.It has descriptions and examples live from twitter

    http://micropoetry.com/twitter-micropoetry

    Thanks

    Luke

    • Thanks for the advice, Luke. Last year I participated in the tweet poem activity for National Poetry Day. I must explore tweeting more poems as I do enjoy creating short forms. Regards, Judith

Leave a Reply

Self-Published Authors Helping Other Authors

Advice on Writing, Publishing, and Book Promotion

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

The WORLD discovered

the ramblings of a backpacker exploring the world by foot

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

sheila sea

like thalassic velvet

Porkbelly Press

made in Cincinnati, Ohio

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Scarborough Mysteries

Crime novels set in a small coastal town on the North Yorkshire coast

Northpenninegallery's Blog

...searching for me

The WordPress.com Blog

Welcome to my writing world

Veronica Magenta Nero

Dark Fiction Author

A Rhyme and a Reason

original poetry by yours truly, all copyrighted.

Kerry-Ann Richardson

Crime Author, Blogger and generally nice person :-)

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

judithlesleymarshall

Welcome to my writing world

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

ROBERTO ALBORGHETTI

We may see things that we don't even imagine.

