Skip to content

Books of Fire and Ice

May 16, 2013

Books of Fire and Ice Writers are often advised that to be a good writer you need to be a good reader. An avid reader since childhood I recently noticed a common thread to books that I have chosen to read during the past few months. They all contain elements of Fire and Ice.
They are also all well written and were consciously chosen because they weave together aspects of history and mythology. By coincidence they are all by female authors, namely: Amanda Downum, Stella Gemmel, Karen Maitland, Rachel Neumeier and Betsy Tobin.
That is not to say that I only read female authors. As it happens David Gemmel is one of my all time favourite male authors. Since his death his wife Stella has continued what may always been their joint work. Her new book ‘The City’ is the most unusual version of Troy I have ever come across. An intriguing dystopia which starts in the underground city.
The setting reminded me of a visit to the catacombs of Paris many years ago. Having survived the experience I declined to follow it up with a tour of the sewers but that’s where I found myself when I started reading ‘The City.’
Each of these titles is worth a read. Their stories and settings write new maps across the neural pathways of the brain, stimulating the imagination. I know that one day this absorption will lead to the production of a story informed by that reading. My most unusual creation to date was ‘At the Gates’ which is downloading well from http://www.smashwords.com
In the meantime I have some new books lined up; ‘Flame of Sevenwaters’ by Juliet Marillier (another of my favourites) and ‘Advent’ by James Treadwell. The latter is an author whom I have not read before. I chose the title because the blurb on the back says: ‘For centuries it has been locked away, lost beneath the sea, warded from earth, air, water, fire, scrying thought and sight.’
Having just cut an article out of the newspaper about a flooded city that had resurfaced from a lake due to climate change and receding water levels I could not resist this one. The article is in my ‘cuttings box’ for future inspiration.
Writing this post I can see that I may be moving into books based in the realm of water. The one author I know whose work is embedded with this element is Avril Joy whose titles include ‘The Sweet Track’ and ‘The Orchid House.’
It remains for me to ask you to consider which elements you are drawn to as either a reader or a writer.

From → Reading

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Self-Published Authors Helping Other Authors

Advice on Writing, Publishing, and Book Promotion

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

The WORLD discovered

the ramblings of a backpacker exploring the world by foot

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

sheila sea

like thalassic velvet

Porkbelly Press

made in Cincinnati, Ohio

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Scarborough Mysteries

Crime novels set in a small coastal town on the North Yorkshire coast

Northpenninegallery's Blog

...searching for me

The WordPress.com Blog

Welcome to my writing world

Veronica Magenta Nero

Dark Fiction Author

A Rhyme and a Reason

original poetry by yours truly, all copyrighted.

Kerry-Ann Richardson

Crime Author, Blogger and generally nice person :-)

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

judithlesleymarshall

Welcome to my writing world

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

ROBERTO ALBORGHETTI

We may see things that we don't even imagine.

