Skip to content

‘A productive and inspirational day.’

May 8, 2013

Writers on retreat at the Morritt
A productive and inspirational day was enjoyed today by 22 writers who met in the Garden Room of the Morritt Arms, Greta Bridge near Barnard Castle to spend the day focussing on individual writing projects.
Writers from a wide age group gathered from across County Durham and North Yorkshire to work on: blog posts,business plans and leaflets, cartoons,creative writing exercises, photography exhibitions, play and audiovisual scripts, poetry, research for articles and novels and simply getting words down on paper.
The day was divided into 3 writing sessions interspersed with time for networking during refreshment and lunch breaks.
Having the time and space to share ideas in a supportive atmosphere was seen as one of the key elements to making the day a success.
By mid-afternoon writers had produced: storyboards, plotlines, poetry and story sequences, promotional leaflets,first and second drafts, finished edits and 1000s of new words.
The general consensus was that it was a brilliant, inspiring, motivational, productive day in an environment conducive to writing.
Many participants commented that they never thought they would achieve so much in the time allotted. Others described the day as: challenging, insightful,interesting,stimulating and valuable.
The writing retreat was organised by Durham Creatives and facilitated by myself. The day was so well received that I have arranged for a follow-up on Wednesday 18th September. The Garden Room at The Morritt will also be the venue for that day.
If you would like to participate please e-mail me to register your interest via julema@tiscali.co.uk. The cost for the day will be £40 inclusive of lunch and refreshments.

From → Creative Writing

6 Comments
  1. Hey Judeth, this sounds interesting, especially the writing of cartoons and the blogg posts. Let me know if you think I would fit in and would there be a place for me?

    • Hi Tony. We had a great day. Am sure you would fit in as a blogger and cartoonist. Would be an opportunity to meet other creative practitioners. The next retreat is on Wednesday 18th September. Will send you the details. Judith

  2. Doreen (Dor) permalink

    This was for me an inspirational day, I found I was not alone in my search to find the means to an end, that is to say, I can go to Judith, and not to be afraid to ask questions no matter how basic. I find Judith very approachable and her facilitation on the Retreat Day proved very productive. I hope to attend the next gathering and continue to build on my confidence to complete what I started.

    • Thanks for the positive feedback, Doreen. I look forward to seeing you on the 18th September if you can make it. Will send booking details via email. Judith

  3. Tony McGuigan permalink

    Judith, I can’t wait! Have you booked me onto this yet as I have my money, my pencil, brushes and sketch books at the ready. I understand you’re away at the moment but please don’t forget about me, will you?

Leave a Reply

Self-Published Authors Helping Other Authors

Advice on Writing, Publishing, and Book Promotion

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

The WORLD discovered

the ramblings of a backpacker exploring the world by foot

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

sheila sea

like thalassic velvet

Porkbelly Press

made in Cincinnati, Ohio

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Scarborough Mysteries

Crime novels set in a small coastal town on the North Yorkshire coast

Northpenninegallery's Blog

...searching for me

The WordPress.com Blog

Welcome to my writing world

Veronica Magenta Nero

Horror SF/F Author

A Rhyme and a Reason

original poetry by yours truly, all copyrighted.

Kerry-Ann Richardson

Crime Author, Blogger and generally nice person :-)

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

judithlesleymarshall

Welcome to my writing world

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

ROBERTO ALBORGHETTI

We may see things that we don't even imagine.

