Skip to content

Free eBook ‘At the Gates’

February 20, 2013

At the Gates eBook cover

At the Gates eBook cover

Today I should have been repainting the back gate and garden fence but as it was so cold I turned the thermostat up indoors and honed my eBook publishing skills instead. The result is the publication of At the Gates.
This free eBook tells the story of a young man who sought sanctuary in a monastery only to find that he ended up trapped there forever. As it is a short story it enabled me to flex my I.T. muscles in a short period of time.
A quick reread of Mark Coker’s Smashwords Style Guide reminded me how to format the manuscript for e-publication. I then referred back to Avril Joy’s notes on how to prepare the cover using http://www.paint.net (distributed at a former Room to Write conference) and asked my daughter’s permission to use one of her photographs.
I was delighted to discover that the story was downloaded 14 times while I took a break to deal with a few domestic chores.It took a couple of weeks and a lot of marketing for my previous smashwords eBook to achieve such dizzy heights and my poetry pamphlet on amazon.co.uk is still struggling to make it into double figures.
I am grateful as ever to those of you who take the time to read my words and consider myself fortunate as I am aware that some publications struggle to find a readership while others go viral.
Going viral is something to aim for so if you’d like to help me achieve this or are simply interested to find out what happens to my nameless protagonist,please feel free to visit my author page (http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/JudithLesleyMarshall) or download At the Gates from http://www.smashwords.com
And if you’re wondering how he manages to stay nameless, it’s all down to the use of the second person singular point of view. For more on that see previous post.

From → E-Publications

4 Comments
  1. Congratulations Judith!

  2. Congrats. I dare say I feel exactly like you. Published 2 free books and following the guide, I found my second book surpassing the 4 months download numbers of the first in one day itself. If u wanna check it out, my authors page is: http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/Shitijbagga

Leave a Reply

Self-Published Authors Helping Other Authors

Advice on Writing, Publishing, and Book Promotion

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

The WORLD discovered

the ramblings of a backpacker exploring the world by foot

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

sheila sea

like thalassic velvet

Porkbelly Press

made in Cincinnati, Ohio

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Scarborough Mysteries

Crime novels set in a small coastal town on the North Yorkshire coast

Northpenninegallery's Blog

...searching for me

The WordPress.com Blog

Welcome to my writing world

Veronica Magenta Nero

Horror SF/F Author

A Rhyme and a Reason

original poetry by yours truly, all copyrighted.

Kerry-Ann Richardson

Crime Author, Blogger and generally nice person :-)

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

judithlesleymarshall

Welcome to my writing world

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

ROBERTO ALBORGHETTI

We may see things that we don't even imagine.

