Skip to content

Recommended Reads for 2013

January 5, 2013

Les MiserablesApplying the first principles of Feng Shui, i.e. clearing out old stuff, I came across some notes I made for a creative writing task in 2000. The task was to recommend a book for other members of the group to read, together with one you would not recommend. At the time I approached the task by recommending three of my favourite trilogies with the observation that the second book in each would be the one I would least recommend.

 
My first recommendation is Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables which has been remade into a film due for release in England on 11th January. I first read this trilogy while living in France in 1985/6 and I still own the Livre de Poche versions that I bought there. I have just moved them to my ‘to be read’ (or in this case rereread) pile for 2013. Having seen all previous film versions of Les Miserables and the theatre show in London the decision remains whether to read the books then view the film or vice versa.

My second recommended reads over 12 years ago have since grown from a trilogy to a whole series. Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Avalon books continue to rank high on my list which originally also included Patricia Wendorf’s Larksleve, Blanche and Bye, Bye Blackbird. These have since disappeared from my bookshelves to be replaced by Jean Auel’s Earth’s Children series which was recently extended to six books with the addition of The Land of Painted Caves.

In 2012 I also discovered three new writers whose books I recommend reading: Daniel Abraham The Dragon’s Path, Elspeth Cooper Songs of the Earth and Rachel Neumeier The Griffin Mage. I look forward to reading their next instalments.

For Christmas I asked one of my daughters (alias Santa Claus) to buy me Trudi Canavan’s Priestess of the White trilogy. This is an author I have meant to read for some time and never got round to. All I can say now is that it’s a shame that I waited so long. I am really enjoying both the storyline and the writing style.

The question remains what would you recommend others both to read and not to read in 2013?

From → Reading

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Self-Published Authors Helping Other Authors

Advice on Writing, Publishing, and Book Promotion

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

The WORLD discovered

the ramblings of a backpacker exploring the world by foot

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

sheila sea

like thalassic velvet

Porkbelly Press

made in Cincinnati, Ohio

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Scarborough Mysteries

Crime novels set in a small coastal town on the North Yorkshire coast

Northpenninegallery's Blog

...searching for me

The WordPress.com Blog

Welcome to my writing world

Veronica Magenta Nero

Horror SF/F Author

A Rhyme and a Reason

original poetry by yours truly, all copyrighted.

Kerry-Ann Richardson

Crime Author, Blogger and generally nice person :-)

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

judithlesleymarshall

Welcome to my writing world

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

ROBERTO ALBORGHETTI

We may see things that we don't even imagine.

