Skip to content

Writing Tip: Get into the habit of writing every day

May 30, 2012

This month’s writing tip is to get into the habit of writing every day.  When I first developed an interest in creative writing I found this hard to do but having read Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way and Walking in this World, I go into the habit of writing ‘morning pages.’  To find the time to do this I had to set the alarm for an hour earlier each day but it was worth the effort.  Below are some of the notebooks which I have filled with flow writing and since been able to mine for poetry and stories .

A selection of writing notebooks  If you are not into flow writing you can adapt this idea by committing a certain amount of time to getting into the habit of writing words to develop your personal writing project every day.   Treat writing as a job, set aside time and space to commit to it on a daily basis and you will soon be rewarded.

Should you hit a block at any stage either keep on writing whatever comes to mind to discipline yourself to keep the words appearing on the page or design a version of the pink box in the photograph.  This is a themed ideas box.  I change the contents according to the course that I am delivering or the project that I am writing but essentially it is full of words or sentences to spark further writing.

Those on the theme of family stories include:

At New Year …

My favourite place …

The best birthday present I ever had …

A first date or first romantic moment …

Different ways I have spent Christmas …

A happy occasion in my life …

On holiday …

Stuck for something to write?  Choose one of the above and write down what comes to mind.  And don’t forget to keep the pen or computer keys going!  Have fun!!!

From → Creative Writing

3 Comments
  1. Is so agree. Writing every day is a way of flexing and building the muscles of the imagination to make new art out of your thoughts and words.

  2. Great advice – it makes me think I should ensure I write every day (I’m a big fan of Julia Cameron) as I often get side tracked into writing related activities that are not actually writing!

    • It was Julia Cameron’s ‘The Artist’s Way’ that led me to identify writing as my ‘vein of gold.’ I also enjoy exploring writing related activities which enrich creativity.

Leave a Reply

Self-Published Authors Helping Other Authors

Advice on Writing, Publishing, and Book Promotion

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

The WORLD discovered

the ramblings of a backpacker exploring the world by foot

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

sheila sea

like thalassic velvet

Porkbelly Press

made in Cincinnati, Ohio

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Scarborough Mysteries

Crime novels set in a small coastal town on the North Yorkshire coast

Northpenninegallery's Blog

...searching for me

The WordPress.com Blog

Welcome to my writing world

Veronica Magenta Nero

Horror SF/F Author

A Rhyme and a Reason

original poetry by yours truly, all copyrighted.

Kerry-Ann Richardson

Crime Author, Blogger and generally nice person :-)

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

judithlesleymarshall

Welcome to my writing world

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

ROBERTO ALBORGHETTI

We may see things that we don't even imagine.

