Skip to content

Kindle for National Poetry Day

March 22, 2012
A Shepherd's Score

A Shepherd's Score

For National Poetry Day I am launching my first Kindle poetry pamphlet, A Shepherd’s Score, the result of a weekend’s conference at Whitworth Hall near Spennymoor.  The conference was run by Avril Joy, Wendy Robertson and Gillian Wales of www.roomtowrite.co.uk.  This is the second time I have attended one of their writers’ weekends.  I agree with another delegate, who has been to several others, that it was the best yet.

During the weekend we were guided through the process of preparing and publishing our work using Kindle Direct Publishing.  We discovered how to design our own covers using Paint.Net and how to produce our own print on demand paperbacks using Create Space.  We were introduced to a range of e-publishing and internet opportunities for writers and ended with a discussion of how blogging contributes to the life and work of a writer.  Well, we really ended with afternoon cream tea.

I should explain that Whitworth Hall is a ‘haven for hobbits’ and the conference was not all hard work.  We also had to fit in; breakfast, second breakfast with danish pastries, buffet lunch, afternoon tea and three course evening meal with wine, coffee & mints.  For those of you who are not familiar with the venue it is set in parkland, has its own herd of deer and once belonged to the family of the famous seafarer, Bobby Shafto.  It is also the setting for Wendy Robertson’s novel Honesty’s Daughter but tends to inspire me to produce writing of a rather wacky nature.

Last time I was there I resurrected the occupants of the pet cemetry by giving their names to a cast of characters who had come to play in the hall’s bandstand – with disastrous results.  The same wry humour is present in some of the poems in A Shepherd’s Score which is available through the amazon bookstore here

I am also celebrating National Poetry Day by purchasing a Kindle Fire so that I can read a variety of titles only available in digital format.

From → E-Publications

4 Comments
  1. Congratulations Judith on tour Kindle. I have downloaded and enjoyed your poems – some of which have a humorous element which I really appreciated. She shepherd’s counting poem uses numbering that I learned from my mother who learned it from her own Welsh mother. Good luck with this and all your other projects.
    Wendy

    • Thanks, Wendy. As it happens I was discussing the origins of these old counting systems with Pete Roe from Sheeppen Productions recently. He said that Swaledalers believe that the scores derive from Welsh and were introduced when the region was populated with Welsh people. I have also heard that the Vikings could be responsible for taking the counting systems to North America in the 5th century. Some of the Indian tribes use similar numbers to those found in shepherds’ scores.

  2. Wonderful that you’ve published A Shepherd’s Score. About to download it now. Thank you for your valuable contribution to the weekend. I’m feeling inspired myself now and need to get my next offering up on Kindle

    • Hi Avril Thanks for your support. I’ve just finished reading The Orchid House which I can thoroughly recommend. I’ll watch out for your next title on Kindle.

Leave a Reply

Self-Published Authors Helping Other Authors

Advice on Writing, Publishing, and Book Promotion

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

The WORLD discovered

the ramblings of a backpacker exploring the world by foot

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

sheila sea

like thalassic velvet

Porkbelly Press

made in Cincinnati, Ohio

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Scarborough Mysteries

Crime novels set in a small coastal town on the North Yorkshire coast

Northpenninegallery's Blog

...searching for me

The WordPress.com Blog

Welcome to my writing world

Veronica Magenta Nero

Horror SF/F Author

A Rhyme and a Reason

original poetry by yours truly, all copyrighted.

Kerry-Ann Richardson

Crime Author, Blogger and generally nice person :-)

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

judithlesleymarshall

Welcome to my writing world

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

ROBERTO ALBORGHETTI

We may see things that we don't even imagine.

